Girl Power / Hook Up / Relationships / Sex / The Ex Files

Anything You Can Do I Can Do Better

In college you deal with tons of selfish bitches. That’s life.  But, when it comes to guys who are selfish, it’s just douchey. Think about it, if one of your friends takes the last Diet Coke without telling you, you get mad and then move on. But, if a guy uses you for sex, then he’s just a jerk looking to get it in, leaving you pissed off and reblogging angry GIF’s on Tumblr. When did things get this way? And why can’t women do the same thing?

This is when it dawned on me. We can. I can. And I should.

So I did.

I started believing in using guys during my sophomore year of college when I was seeing this wishy-washy frat bro. To this day he’s one of my best friends but he sure does know how to piss a girl off. He wouldn’t give me any kind of commitment besides time slots from 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. and even that was pushing it. You’re probably thinking that I should have ended things right away. Wrong. I kept going with it. If you’re going to use me for sex, I’m going to do it right back at you and throw it in your face.

IDGAF

This went on for about six months and then I started dating one of his frat brothers. Guess he realized he should have been a little more committed because soon after he called me out for “hurting his feeling,” (what a pansy). He tried to feed me stupid BS such as what we had was special and he thought that sex meant more to me then just having fun. I simply replied “I was just using you for sex…isn’t that what you wanted?” and left the room. This was the first case of using a guy to get what I want and he learned that two people could play this game.

Most recently, in a much more mild situation, I used a guy to improve my writing. I had never written poetry before but I always wanted to learn. I mean, if Taylor Swift can do it, can’t I? I needed inspiration and I needed to learn how to actually write in rhythmic formation. So this guy I was seeing on and off again (shocker) started telling me really sweet things and opening up to me. I thought it was pretty beneficial to our then relationship and now friendship. So I began writing about it. I turned our fling into a series of ten poems. TEN. Like I don’t write poetry, so that’s pretty insane that I was suddenly able to whip up ten poems. This was just another example of me using a relationship to benefit myself.

Moral of the story: we can all be those douchey, selfish men. We can use people in certain ways to benefit ourselves. No, it doesn’t have to be about sex. It can be about conversations or stories and turning them into something else. It can be about proving a point and making that flaky dude realize that what he’s doing is wrong. It can be It sounds a little bitchy but, it’s a tough world out there and as the “ladies,” we need to survive.

 

“Single Girl” is tired of hooking up with random dudes at frat parties, dealing with men leading her on, and always having to make the first move. Dealing with the unfortunate scene of college dating, “Single Girl” tackles the topics of love, lust, and relationships. 

Leave a Reply

