Dating / Relationships

Why Do You Think You’re Single? Part 1

We’ve all spent endless Friday nights crying over some dumb chick flick and eating absurd amounts of froyo. We’ve wondered, “Why am I single?” or have thought about how we’ll “never get married and die alone.” I’m the first to admit that I’m an expert when it comes to stuff like this. Instead of moping around and convincing myself that something is wrong with me, it’s time to deal with my doubts and concerns–our doubts and concerns.

Thanks to the support from my amazing magazine majors at Newhouse, we’ve created a new idea to help college women get their questions answered. Within the next few weeks Single Girl Status will display posts that real college women and men have filled out. In these posts a woman will answer the questions and then a dude will respond. Each week new students will take and answer the survey, giving you a taste of different personality types. Sometimes you just want to know what’s going on in a guys head and now you can. See below for our first interview with my friend, Madison!

-1

Name: Madison

Why do you think you’re single:

Madison: I think, as cliche as it sounds, I’m really busy. I tend to take on a lot, and can’t really say no, so I find myself busy all of the time, without much opportunity to do much else. I’ve got a double major and a minor, so I’m constantly taking classes, and I’m involved on campus with publications and Greek life. On top of that, I don’t go out very often…one of the hazards of having only 21+ friends. Sucks, but it’s an unfortunate truth.

Male Response: As a person whose biggest extracurricular activity in college is drinking, I can’t relate to how busy you are.  My roommate was the last one of our group of friends to turn 21, so I know how much that can suck.  But I think it’s important to find time for yourself and all relationships—including intimate ones.

Do you want to be single:

Madison: I don’t mind…at all. Is that bad?

Male Response: I think if you’re not looking for a relationship, you’ll never actually be in one.  Yet, if you don’t want to be in one there is nothing wrong with that.  We’re too young to have to start caring about that BS.
Are there characteristics you have that would “scare” a boy away:

Madison: I can be overly sarcastic–to the point of too much I’m told. If appearance is the problem, then that’s too fucking bad.

Male Response: I don’t think being overly sarcastic is a bad thing.  I love sarcasm.  For me, if I can’t joke around with a girl she’s not for me, even if she is good looking.  I wouldn’t change anything in that regard, you just have to find someone who actually likes your sarcasm and dish it out too.

What do you want from guys/do you think this is reasonable:

Madison: What do I want? Someone who’s got a good sense of humor, hard work ethic, not a total fratty douche, and good looks wouldn’t hurt. But someone who I can have fun with, and gets my sick sense of humor.

Male Response: In all seriousness, these are all reasonable traits to look for.  The only problem is most girls like guys who are dicks.  That’s why most guys act that way.

What do you think a guy would say about why you’re single:

Madison: I have no idea. I’ve heard from guy friends that the reason is I’m too picky, which might be true. But other than that, no idea!

Male Response: I think sometimes being too picky can be a bad thing.  We’re still in college and there is no reason not to see what is out there.  Having a bad hook up isn’t the end of the world.  I’m not saying be a slut, but taking chances on guys that you aren’t sure of isn’t the worst thing.  You either find out things you like in guys for next time or find out traits you definitely don’t want in the next guy.

43188022521

“Single Girl” is tired of hooking up with random dudes at frat parties, dealing with men leading her on, and always having to make the first move. Dealing with the unfortunate scene of college dating, “Single Girl” tackles the topics of love, lust, and relationships. 

Leave a Reply

