Dating / Hook Up / Love / Relationships

Cause I Think It’s Best If We Both Stay.

As of lately I’ve been criticized for portraying myself as a victim, like women are the innocent ones and men are the evil villains handing us the poison apple of love.  Sometimes, life feels that way. Sometimes when you’re so much in love with someone and they take everything away in a three-minute conversation, it does feel like they are at fault. Sometimes, the most important lessons we learn in life are from being hurt by others. Though I have fun getting my “revenge” on my ex lovers by sharing stories with my readers, I also think hearing about experiences is the best way to get advice from someone. To know, that you’re not alone no matter what. To know that these problems and painful things have happened to others, and that others have survived it. But, with that being said and done, I’d like to talk about a topic that apparently I never touch on, being happy and treated properly.

The best and worst feeling in the world is saying hello to someone. When you say hello, there’s always a chance that you could say goodbye.  When you say hello to someone you never know where that may lead, who knew a year ago that a certain hello would lead to total frustration and then satisfaction. I believe in completely following my gut and doing what I think is best. If I want something, I go after it and accomplish it. Regardless of how much trouble it may cause me. Sometimes, this can be bad but, in this specific situation, it was good.

Through the course of this relationship there was secrecy, tons of tears, fighting, angry letters, and unfollowing/refollowing on Twitter (uh oh). But, for some reason I kept going back.  Though I would tell my friends what a bad idea this was, it was like a spell was cast upon me and when I was around him I couldn’t listen to my mind, only my heart (queen of clichés over here). Finally, when we ended things for the billionth time, I really thought it was over. But like clockwork, he came around again and I of course couldn’t help myself.

tumblr_mkljptqzNq1rsybbto1_500

Now, I am so happy and lucky to have someone that deals with me. I mean think about it; I get emotional over the silliest things, I overthink things, I talk about Taylor Swift more then an average person should in their lifetime, and I blog about how much I hate men—if I was a guy I don’t even know if I could handle myself.

I think the lesson learned from these peaks and valleys is that sometimes, in order to be happy you have to accept a relationship for what it is and stand on holy ground. You have to realize that you can’t change who someone else is. You have to stop yourself from thinking psycho girl thoughts like rings, kids, and the names of your pets. You have to stop thinking about the negative things that have happened to you in the past and start thinking about all the amazing things that are happening in the moment. The reason why this relationship started to finally work is because I remained calm and didn’t let bad thoughts ruin my happiness. I started realizing the difference between this relationship and my last with my ex boyfriend, and as I’ve said earlier—I appreciate this relationship for what it is.

Sitting down and thinking about your current situation is something that may help you realize what you have is special or even good for the time being. Not everything has to be a production—C’est La Vie—cause I think it’s best if we both stay.

 

“Single Girl” is tired of hooking up with random dudes at frat parties, dealing with men leading her on, and always having to make the first move. Dealing with the unfortunate scene of college dating, “Single Girl” tackles the topics of love, lust, and relationships. 

Leave a Reply

