Break Up / Dating / Friends / Love / Relationships

We Breakup, You Call Me, And I Still Love You

I can’t believe it’s been almost a month since I’ve last updated my blog. These past few weeks have been insanely busy—from finishing up final assignments, to finals week, to senior week, to graduation—no one tells you that it’ll be challenging to keep up with a blog when you’re drowning in school work. But, luckily all that is over and I can continue to focus on my main passion, writing about boys who break my heart. Without further a due, I bring you my most recent love mishap:

When going through a breakup, one partner usually takes the role as the heartbreaker and the other as the sad, miserable, depressed being who doesn’t know how to move on with their life (AKA me).  Most breakups usually result in one person losing interest in the other and realizing that the original connection has faded away. So, what happens when you go through a breakup (I’m not even sure that’s the proper name for this) and both partners still love each other? How do you move on or get over a relationship when you don’t want to and shouldn’t have to?

tumblr_mm11iqRNZM1qbzch9o1_500

Life makes love look hard, with tons of decisions and real life commitments flying towards us, we can’t exactly put the real world on hold and figure everything out. We have graduation, job opportunities, and new living arrangements. How exactly do we decide which path to take when we have so many other things going on? I’ve been given advice like “take your relationship long distance” or “move on.” But, to be honest, none of these choices seems right. As you all know by now, I’ve had a horrible long distance relationship in the past. Though this is with a different person, at a different time in my life, I’m not sure the timing is right. Moving on and finding a new hookup? I don’t even think I could handle that right now when I have feelings for someone else (not to mention I’m currently living in at my parents home until I am employed).

I don’t really think there’s a “right” way to go about dealing with a situation like this. I think that if two people in love have no choice but to change the course of their relationship the best thing to do is to go with the flow. There’s no reason why we still can’t talk, be a good support system for one another, and continue to be best friends. You never know what can happen in the future or what will happen with jobs. The best thing you can do is to continue to maintain your relationship and realize everything you’ve gained from it. For example, from my most recent relationship I’ve learned to trust people again, to learn to love again, and to take my thoughts and construct them into something positive (AKA this blog 60% of the time).

So the best you can do for right now is to remember everything good that came out of a relationship regardless of the reason for ending things. Keep in contact with the person you love and wait it out, if there’s one thing I’ve learned this semester it’s not that everything needs to be defined or have a label—without one things can still run smoothly.

tumblr_mju6iev6Ds1qbw4dpo1_500

“Single Girl” is tired of hooking up with random dudes at frat parties, dealing with men leading her on, and always having to make the first move. Dealing with the unfortunate scene of college dating, “Single Girl” tackles the topics of love, lust, and relationships. 

Leave a Reply

