Sex / Virgin

Not “experienced?” Really though, IT’S OKAY!

Being 21, turning 22 soon most people would probably assume that I have had some practice when it comes to “sexual experiences,” but that’s not always the case.  In this day and age it is more common to meet people who have had at least one sexual partner, whether it be with a serious boyfriend or not, and that seems to be the norm these days. Since we are young, are trying to figure ourselves out, and just want to have fun, this type of sexual activity (or lack there of) seems normal.

So why does it feel abnormal to be a virgin? Recently, it has bothered me more that I am not as experienced as other women. Is there something wrong with me? I JUST WANT TO GET IT OVER WITH.

tumblr_mmr5f9oIBk1r1bsjqo1_500

That’s when it hit me; there isn’t anything wrong necessarily. Its not like I am saving myself for anyone special, “my time” just hasn’t happened yet and that’s fine. Amazingly enough, I have a couple of friends who are in the same boat as me, so I know that nothing is wrong with me. I thought for sure that no one would understand where I was coming from, especially since I went through four years of college without “giving it up,” but there are other people out there who just haven’t experienced it yet due to timing or finding the right partner.

But, don’t think that just because certain people aren’t as experienced as others that they are going around judging other people. I for one could care less what other people do.  Many of my friends are more experienced than me and I like it. I say, more power to you! People should be able to do whatever they want, whether it be hooking up with a guy or deciding to wait a little bit, and not be judged either way for it. In the end you should only worry about what you are comfortable with and not feel pressure to have to act a certain way or do certain things just to keep up with your other friends.

tumblr_mntvazdYTm1r62hwlo1_500

So other fellow virgins don’t worry about it! Your time will come when it is supposed to happen. You’ve held out this long, so no need to rush it. Wait for that right guy who doesn’t pressure you into anything you aren’t ready for and will let you take your time. It doesn’t make you any less sexy or cool because you may not be as experienced in bed as others. As corny as it sounds, what’s meant to happen will happen and when it’s your time, you’ll know.

tumblr_ltcp7kpX0n1qaf0h1o1_500

Guest Blogger for Single Girl Status

Leave a Reply

