Break Up / Relationships

The Burn Book in Your Brain

If you’re a hopeless romantic or just have boy troubles (which I assume you relate to one of the two if you’re reading this blog,) then you’ve probably at some point connected music to what you’re feeling. I have different artists and even songs for different people and emotions. I’m sure at this point it’s obvious that I don’t reserve Taylor Swift for one emotion but for all of them.

When I date people one of the most important things for me is that my boyfriend can handle listening to TSwift because that’s all we’re going to listen to if I’m driving us anywhere. And since I’m always open to new music I love getting playlists and hearing new artists, so music sharing is mutual. Not only do you have songs that remind you of me, but also I have songs that remind me of you.

tumblr_mov9rgffkt1snx9cpo1_500

So when you’re trying to get over someone or something, it’s really hard when there’s so much music that can relate to different aspects of a relationship. This got me to thinking about what it must be like for someone to no longer be dating me. I mean, it sucks (because they’re not with me, duh) but also because literally Taylor Swift is everywhere. She’s on the radio, on the Internet, and in the news. You can’t escape the girl no matter how hard you try. Even if you hear the name Taylor or words like “fearless,” “enchanting,” and “magical” you’ll still think of her and me.

It became obvious to me that whenever someone hears Taylor they’re going to think about me. Like I’m imprinted onto their brain. Like it’s burned in.

tumblr_mh7f03drUE1rxpil4o1_500

I had an ex who ended things with me and then thought it would be fun to play with my feelings and lead me on. He would text me things all the time like “I saw Taylor perform at XYZ award show and it made me think of you,” or “Love Story came on the radio and I thought about that time we had our first kiss to it,” barf.

But it isn’t just like this for them; it’s like it for me as well. And for you, and your exes. Whenever I hear John Mayer I think about how we only listened to his CD while we were dating because it’s all we could agree on. Whenever I hear “Daylight” by Maroon 5, I think about one of the saddest goodbyes of my life. When I hear “Hey There Delilah” I’ll think about the soundtrack to our summer. When I hear “Last Kiss” by Taylor Swift I’ll remember how I use to think it was the saddest song in the world because of you.

43397752924

It’s crazy how I can be so over these relationships but these melodies will remind me of someone or something. I wasn’t able to listen to the song “Last Kiss” for months without crying and I eventually had to turn to a different version by a different artist.

Long after a relationship is over, music can still be a remaining particle of a love that has ended. My best advice for still listening to songs you love with baggage? Listen to them again and again on repeat, desensitize yourself from the lyrics and the cords, and learn to become emotionless about it. If you detach from the relationship and the song, it’ll be just a regular tune or like listening to something from the top 100—light, fluffy, and enjoyable.

Make that song just another picture to burn. Burn, burn, burn baby burn.

tumblr_mor8nlW2d11rkteato1_500

Single Girl” is tired of hooking up with random dudes at frat parties, dealing with men leading her on, and always having to make the first move. Dealing with the unfortunate scene of college dating, “Single Girl” tackles the topics of love, lust, and relationships. 

19 thoughts on “The Burn Book in Your Brain

  1. My partner and I stumbled over here from a different web
    page and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to going over your web page for a second time.

  2. Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness for your post is simply great and i could assume you are knowledgeable in this subject.
    Well along with your permission allow me to grab your
    feed to stay up to date with impending post. Thanks one million and please keep
    up the gratifying work.

  3. I am extremely inspired with your writing abilities as well as
    with the layout for your blog. Is that this a paid subject matter or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way stay up the excellent quality writing, it is uncommon to peer a great blog like this one
    nowadays..

  4. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s
    both equally educative and engaging, and without a doubt,
    you have hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that too
    few folks are speaking intelligently about.
    I am very happy that I came across this during my hunt for something regarding
    this.

  5. Having read this I believed it was really informative. I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this content together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a significant
    amount of time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  6. Hey! This post could not be written any better! Reading
    through this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this write-up to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  7. I simply couldn’t leave your website prior to suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the
    usual info an individual supply to your visitors? Is gonna be again steadily in order to check out
    new posts

  8. I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s equally educative and entertaining, and without a doubt, you
    have hit the nail on the head. The problem is something which too few people are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy I stumbled across this in my
    hunt for something concerning this.

  9. The Burn Book in Your Brain | Single Girl Status
    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I
    have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very
    soon!

Leave a Reply

