Friday Musings

Friday Musings: Taylor Swift Soul Cycle

If you didn’t get the memo that I like Taylor Swift, then there is something seriously wrong with you. You can ask any of my friends, colleagues, or people I’ve known for about 5 minutes about my Taylor Swift obsession and they’ll tell you I’m insane.

tumblr_inline_netjfeXone1rlsnef

Therefore, it’s no surprise that a few weeks ago while checking my personal email at work (guilty) I received my weekly Monday update from Soul Cycle. This is an email newsletter that I actually read (guilty again) as you also should know I despise emails. Getting back on track, this newsletter gives you information on all the special edition classes that will only happen during this week at select Soul Cycle studios. I’ve been waiting very impatiently for a Taylor Swift themed ride and finally Soul decided to get the hint after my endless Tweets to them stating I needed this themed ride or I would (literally) die.

Screen Shot 2014-11-26 at 1.52.20 PM

I of course asked my colleague if she wanted to join in which she said yes (I promise I did not force her). We decided that this class wouldn’t be perfect unless we were as obnoxious as possible about the whole situation. Enter: Taylor Swift t-shirts with our faces on them. After an insane amount of visits to Blick Art Supplies, a 2-hour visit to Staples, and jamming 2 of the 3 printers at our office, we finally got the t-shirts looking perfect!

We headed to Soul with lots of energy and excitement—would they only play 1898 songs? Would they mix in something from the Red era? The playlist options were endless. I’m happy to report that Soul took this session seriously and even decorated the front desk with beautiful images of our girl Taylor. As we headed into the cycle studio for the actual workout (that’s why we’re here?) our instructor explained how Taylor placed each song on her newest album 1989 in a special order to tell a story and that our class is going to follow this story (AKA he was too lazy to make a playlist and basically listened to the entire album of 1989 straight through).

10811552_2394724875009_1487815893_n

 

After an hour of a disgusting amount of sweat, a leg cramp, and a bit of an issue getting off the bike, we were finally out of the woods and completed our first Taylor Swift themed ride. It was an amazing experience and if every exercise classed confined to only playing Taylor Swift for the entire duration of the workout, I’d be at the gym everyday.

Screen Shot 2014-11-26 at 1.53.30 PM

 

Leave a Reply

