#WCW

#WCW: Lena Dunham

I am obsessed with Lena Dunham and I don’t really care what people have to say about her–whether it’s about her “sexually abusing” her sister, the amount of times her boobs are out for the world to see, or how “fat” she looks in a dress at an awards show. She’s a creative genius, a fighter for women’s rights, and one of the nicest celebrities I’ve ever met.

tumblr_nilnpyzeRn1qcpno5o1_1280

I started becoming obsessed with Lena when I first watched Girls. I was a late bloomer when it came to discovering the show and binge-watched season one and season two in one weekend. I love how interestingly unique each character on the show is and how characters like Hannah and Shoshanna are polar opposites and yet, I feel like I connect with both of them.  I also love how Lena is able to craft the perfect one-liner for Hannah which sums up every emotion I’ve ever felt–it’s like she just gets it.

When Lena became friends with Taylor Swift, I was obviously sold on the Dunham cult and never looked back. Therefore, when I heard Lena was writing a book, I knew I had to see her when she was on her book tour. I called out of work “sick” and sat outside of the Union Square Barnes and Noble at 6 AM in hopes of getting the golden ticket–a wristband which would guarantee that I would be able to enter the Barnes and Noble later that night, get a seat during her presentation, and get to meet Lena. The wait wasn’t horrible and I was with a friend who kept me entertained. The moment we purchased our books and got our wristbands,  we immediately began reading.

tumblr_nhx8k1WzWn1qaywulo1_1280

Not That Kind of Girl is perfect. From the paper quality used for the book, the typeface used for the title of the book, the illustrations inside and out, and the actual writing is all perfection. Lena is an eloquent writer who is able to convey powerful stories in a honest and hilarious way. Her presentation was fantastic and I loved how she made it an event–not just a book reading. She invited Amy Schumer do standup before sharing her experiences with us, which made the event even better than I imagined. When it was time to meet Lena she was fabulous and adorable and everything I imagined her to be. We all know she called me sparkles and I cried myself to sleep for 40 days and 40 nights after.

10681717_2361525125036_1353352489_n

I love Lena for everything she stands for. Who cares if she’s not a size four? Who cares that she’s comfortable with her body and is fine showing the world her boobs? Why are you judging her for something weird that she did during her childhood and then called it sexual abuse? Let her live her life. She’s so unbelievably talented and her craft will only continue to sharpen as she gets older.

tumblr_niuwdix4qL1qcpno5o1_500

Leave a Reply

